Welcome to Our Community

Unlock hidden features. Sign Up for Free Today!

Ask Grbl CNC questions here.

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Sonny Jeon, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. Foggy

    Foggy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  2. Foggy

    Foggy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello David the swarfer,

    Sorry for the delay. Thank you very much for your reply.
    I will try this out and let you know how I get on.

    Best wishes.
     
  3. miguelGTR

    miguelGTR New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi i just build a CNC Coil winder using GRBL and CNC Shield , Most of the build went fine after doing some research i got everything working, but at this time i am only using the machine to do the same thing over and over and it would be awesome if someone could help to make the machine Standalone and just use Hardware switches to run hold and stop , G code is pretty short wont take any space is this possible?
    Using Arduino UNO R3
    +Universal G code Sender
    Appreciate any help
    big thanks to the GRBL team
     
  4. Sonny Jeon

    Sonny Jeon Veteran
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    46
    Not really. Unless your program is literally a few dozens of lines long. It's best to have a separate Arduino just feed Grbl the g-code through the RX TX serial pins. It's pretty simple to wire up. At a bare minimum, you just need to have it loop that sends a line and waits for an 'ok' response before sending the next.
     
  5. miguelGTR

    miguelGTR New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thik it is about 15 lines is just a coil winder only linear moves , any idea on how to try ? i think it may be worth it and save me a lot of time and money buying extra stuff
     
  6. Sonny Jeon

    Sonny Jeon Veteran
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    46
    Look in protocol.c and the main loop. It constantly checks the serial read buffer for a new character. You just need to insert your g-code there and give Grbl one character at a time when it asks for it.
     
  7. Cabrunco

    Cabrunco Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all, is there any way of accessing the status of the controlling board? I mean, for example, I send a command like G1 X100 F200, starting at position X=0. This movement will take a few seconds to complete. In this meantime, can I send a command to the board and get signal like "busy" or "moving"? This command would also return "idle" or "waiting" after the movement is finished. Thanks for any help.
     
  8. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    306
    You can read all about it in the Wiki
    Grbl v1.1 Interface · gnea/grbl Wiki · GitHub
     
    Cabrunco likes this.
  9. Cabrunco

    Cabrunco Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
  10. Mike the ham

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello im new here trying to setup a computer for my daughter , its Mint 17.1
    Arduino installed 1.8.2 grbl is access able from Arduino, trying to install Grbl-sim
    having a lot of *** moments.
    from github:
    How do you compile Grbl Sim?
    • Clone this repository into the directory containing the Grbl source code. (should be <repo>/grbl).

    • Edit the Grbl-Sim Makefile to select the correct PLATFORM = line. LINUX and WINDOWS are currently supported.

    • (You may need to make other modifications to the Makefile and some environment variables for your particular machine. Please share any modifications you find)

    • Run > make new to compile Grbl Sim!
    Can someone elaborate a bit more on a Linux install ???????
    i GOT DOWNLOAD REPO. its in downloads folder ,,, grbl file is in opt/arduino-1.8.2/libraries/grbl, grbl-master is in opt/arduino-1.8.2/grbl-master.
    should i create a file in home? home/grbl?
    Its My daughters Laptop computer
    i need her to have access from her desktop without admin access/ she is 12, spent last summer learning python this year cad cam cnc 3dprinting, last time i built a cnc was in 98 and ran it in dos, so been awhile.
    most what i do is Arduino Ham related, tried installing camotics but its not working installs has icons but is a no starter
    have Inkscape, unicorn g code extensions installed, , Orical 8 its all loaded, just frustrated with 3 line instructions that don't work for the average user a link to a linux install for everything GRBL with a bit more detail would be nice.
    PS Win sucks, number of windows machines in my house is 0 for 7
     
  11. Tinker99

    Tinker99 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two questions regarding Arduino 1.8.2, GRBL v1.1f, Universal GCode Sender v1.09 (UGSPlatform), running under NetBeans 8.1.

    The UGSPlatform program has a pulldown Machine menu with a Firmware Settings tab.

    1. Are changes actually flashed to the Arduinos 328p chip or are they saved virtually in UGS?

    2. Is there a way to create a set of profiles (i.e., text files, etc.) for different CNC applications?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Sonny Jeon

    Sonny Jeon Veteran
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    46
    I'm pretty sure that they are written and saved on Grbl. It doesn't accept new settings any other way. As for machine profiles, I'm not aware of that feature for UGS. But you can stream settings files, formatted just like the output, via the simple_stream.py script or a GUI that sends via the send-response method (UGS by default does not). See the Grbl interface wiki page for more details on this.
     
  13. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    306
    afaik any GRBL settings will be written to EEPROM in the 328, any UGS settings are written to a UGS ini file
    yes, give the command $$
    copy and paste the result into a text file (for each machine setup)

    now you can stream that file (UGS closed!) using the simple_stream.py that Sonny mentioned.
    the python script is the only safe way I know of to do this.

    You can create some batch files to send the file you want, and just double click to send it.
     
  14. Tinker99

    Tinker99 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. Cabrunco

    Cabrunco Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dear all, I have a strange problem here. I want to send commands to a GRBL compatible board using RealTerm. However, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. In contrast, every time I use the program GRBL controller 3.6.1, it works perfectly. Does anyone know a possible reason for this? Thanks for any help.
     
  16. Anthony Bolgar

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    112
    Is there any way of hooking up a joystick to jog the machine using GRBL?
     
  17. Sonny Jeon

    Sonny Jeon Veteran
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    46
    There are quite a few poeple that done so but I don't know of any product that you can buy and just plug-and-play. I'm hoping that will change soon.
     
  18. Anthony Bolgar

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    112
    Thanks Sonny. Note to self-Build joystick jogging plug & play device for grbl and get rich ;)
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  19. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    306
    You will have to read this
    Grbl v1.1 Interface · gnea/grbl Wiki · GitHub

    My guess is your line endings or serial speed settings. Also, make sure your UNO is not one of the clones with a CH340 USB chip. You must use a genuine UNO with the 16u2 chip for best high speed communication.
     
  20. Cuchara

    Cuchara New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone

    I would like to know which is the correct way to connects the The arduino to this Spindle Motor controller


    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  21. DeDenktank

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently i bought this kit from Vslot europe: OX CNC 1500x1000 - Open Technologies // Vslot Europe
    The Grbl settings provided are for a slightly different built. Doen anyone have experience with this built an is willing to share the Grbl settings of a arduino hex file with the correct settings?

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provide resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!